2008 MLB Preview

OK – so I came up with a little bit of a ridiculous system to do my baseball predictions this season. I wanted to give each team a score from 1-100 by assigning point values to different aspects of the team. The most important was #1 starter (10 points), least important was minor league system (1 point).

The entire system went like this:

1st starter – 10 points
2nd starter – 9 points
3rd starter- 8 points
4th starter – 7 points
5th starter – 6 points
Closer – 4 points
Bullpen – 6 points
Best hitter – 8 points
2nd best hitter – 7 points
3rd best hitter – 6 points
4th best hitter- 5 points
5th best hitter – 5 points
6th best hitter – 5 points
7-9th best hitter – 5 points
bench – 3 points
team defense – 5 points
minor league system – 1 point
Total Value: 100 points

I tried to weight it as best I could towards what is most important. For instance, pitching takes up 50%, hitting 41% and intangibles 9% of the total score. Starting rotation is 40%, but the top 2 pitchers are 19%. The 3 best hitters are worth 1% more (21%) than the rest of the bunch (20%). I included the minor league system only because there are always players called up that make a difference.I figured with such a fool-proof, complex system I would come up with definitive playoff teams. Right? Of course not. After hours of rating every player on every team, all I figured out was there are 16 teams that might make the playoffs, and 14 that probably won’t.

What I’m going to do is write a small capsule for each team with their scores in my rating system (and league rank) what their strengths and weaknesses are, their key player for the season and my outlook. I will post them all as soon as I write them. Hopefully about 1 a day until opening day. Since the point system was so close and is forcing me to actually use logic and sense to pick the playoff teams, I won’t be revealing my final picks until I’m done the capsules, because I haven’t decided all of them yet (if I have, I’ll say so in the capsule).As they are done, I’ll link to them down here

(alphabetical, NOT ORDER OF PREDICTED FINISH)-

AL EAST

AL Central

AL West

NL EAST

NL Central

NL West

31 Responses

  1. […] 2008 Preview: Boston Red Sox Posted on February 21, 2008 by Pete Explanation of ratings system here […]

  2. […] of ratings system hereTAMPA BAY RAYSRanksOverall – 74 points (18th MLB, 8th AL)Starting Rotation – 30 points (15th […]

  3. […] of ratings system hereTORONTO BLUE JAYSRanksOverall – 80 points (13th MLB, 7th AL)Starting Rotation – 31 points (12th […]

  4. […] Explanation of ratings system here […]

  5. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  6. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  7. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  8. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  9. […] I’ve been engulfed in my MLB Preview, a whole bunch of things have happened in Philly sports that I felt I should comment on, but […]

  10. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  11. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  12. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  13. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  14. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  15. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  16. […] the other half of the Recliner GM, being the brains behind all of the comprehensive and remarkable baseball analysis, insight and writing, I am confident baseball will be covered at a very high level.  Since I think […]

  17. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  18. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  19. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  20. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  21. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  22. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  23. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  24. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  25. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  26. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  27. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  28. […] Explanation of ratings system and other team previews here […]

  29. We’ve moved, and comments are closed here. Please head over to http://www.reclinergm.com to continue the conversation.

Comments are closed.