Welcome Pedro Feliz! Respectable Third-Baseman!

I was about to start writing up my analysis of the Phillies 3rd base position and I looked in disgust at the list of opening day starters the last couple years. Wes Helms, Abraham Nunez, David Bell. It took all my energy not to punch through my computer screen when I saw those three names written together. However, before I could write a single word, I checked ESPN.com for the 1,156th time today, and just my luck, we’ve signed Pedro Feliz! Now don’t get me wrong, Feliz is not the 2nd coming of Mike Schmidt or Scott Rolen, but he IS a significant upgrade at third base. Why?

  1. His name isn’t Wes Helms
  2. He plays not a good, but a GREAT defensive 3rd base. According the The Fielding Bible, he was the best defensive 3rd baseman in all of baseball last year. I don’t know much about how fielding metrics work, but I know The Fielding Bible is a very respectable resource, and if you are first, well, you don’t suck.
  3. He hit 20 HR and had 72 RBI while playing primarily in a pitchers park last year. In 2006, he hit 22 HR and had 98 RBI. With Dobbs getting ABs against tough righties, we suddenly have a good offensive tandem at 3rd.
  4. He does NOT have a great BA, and does NOT walk a lot (these are his 2 biggest negatives), BUT, he also does not strike out a lot (only 70 K in 557 AB last year) and this team desperately needs to lower the amount of strikeouts in their line-up.

Frankly, I love this move. He upgrades us both offensively and defensively, doesn’t strike-out a lot and hit .310 with runners in scoring position last year (.324 with RISP and 2 outs). He is exactly what we need, someone to help defensively and not make bad outs offensively, while providing some pop and RBI at the bottom of the order.

Here is what the projected 2008 Opening Day line-up looks like, in my opinion, easily the best in the NL

1. Jimmy Rollins, SS
2. Shane Victorino, CF
3. Chase Utley, 2B
4. Ryan Howard, 1B
5. Pat Burrell, LF
6. Geoff Jenkins, RF
7. Pedro Feliz, 3B
8. Carlos Ruiz, C

6 Responses

  1. You, sir, are disillusioned. “Happy Peter” will soon make you an angry Pete.

  2. I work next to a SF Giants season ticket holder. He says Feliz is a gold glove caliber fielder. For those comparing his numbers to the Phillies Helms/Dobbs/Nunez platoon, remember Feliz hit in a pitchers park with no help around him in the lineup. Expect 30 bombs this year without having to pull him late in the game. Go Phils!!

  3. I love the Phillies lineup, and it will once again be one of the top scoring teams, but what do you think Pat B., gives ya this year. The first half Pat or the second ?

  4. […] ESPN.com’s headline editors think just that, as do the guys over at The Recliner GM (whose site I’m a fan of), but I don’t.  Pedro Feliz is a very good defensive third […]

  5. Great move, you will see this kid Feliz he can produce

  6. We’ve moved, and comments are closed here. Please head over to http://www.reclinergm.com to continue the conversation.

Comments are closed.